Closed Thread

Old 09-25-2006, 12:43 PM   #1  

Default Deli meats and good snacks

I see in the Food List that deli meats aren't core foods. So, what to do about lowfat low salt sliced turkey? Do you eat it and count the points or just avoid it?

I could also use some snack suggestions. I did sliced apple w/pb yesterday and used some points for it. I guess I could have skipped the pb but the protein seemed necessary.

Since I am new to Core, I feel like I am floundering around a bit!

Thank you for any suggestions.
Old 09-25-2006, 01:32 PM   #2  

Height: 5'7"

Yes, I'm sorry to say, you have to use points for those things. At first, there were two Boar's Head varieties that were listed as Core, but then when they revised it, those two were taken off. It's the processing that makes it not be Core. I would have liked to see turkey sausage on the list, or nuts (within reason) or natural peanut butter ... but no go.

But the good part is that's what the weekly points allowance is for! So if you want it, go ahead as long as you have the points for it.
Old 09-25-2006, 09:13 PM   #3  
Card Carrying Princess

S/C/G: 225/197/150

I occasionally eat deli meat - non fat turkey breast and count it as 'core enough' - maybe once every couple of weeks?

For snacks you might consider cut up veggies and nf/lf dip, fruit salad w/nf cottage cheese (if you need protein), soy cheese, lf popcorn, sf jello. Otherwise as Kathy mentioned anything works as long as you have the points for it!

Froufie
Old 09-26-2006, 09:41 AM   #4  

Height: 5'7"

Well, I'm with Froufy on this one -- didn't want to say so (but since she did, I'll fess up too!). I occasionally eat lean turkey breast from the deli and don't count it. If I make a sandwich, I'll use Nature's Own Light 100% Wheat Bread, deli turkey, FF cheese, lettuce, tomato and FF Miracle Whip. The whole sandwich costs me ONE POINT for the two slices of bread, and it's filling.
Old 09-26-2006, 10:34 AM   #5  
Southside White Sox Fan