Closed Thread

Old 08-11-2006, 11:51 AM   #1  
Melissa

Thumbs up Core Meals To Freeze

I think I've asked this before, but what core meals freeze really well? I actually have extra freezer space in our new house. With school getting ready to start again and my Pampered Chef business getting going, I think I better do some planning ahead! And after a week of over-indulgence on vacation, I'm ready to hop back on the wagon. I'd like to work on these this weekend. What recipes do you suggest freezing? (Oh and please tell me if you freeze before or after cooking, etc....I'm new at this! )
Old 08-11-2006, 12:06 PM   #2  
Southside White Sox Fan

I freeze all of mine after cooking. Usually we eat them the night I cook them and then I freeze the leftovers for another meal or split them up into lunch sized portions.

Smothered barley chicken

White Chicken Chili

Sirloin/Bean Chili

Tamale Pie

Core Sirloin Meat Sauce (I freeze the sauce and cook fresh pasta)
Old 08-11-2006, 12:25 PM   #3  

Height: 5'7"

Melissa, with your grill, you should do up a lot of extra meat and freeze it. Hamburger patties are a good one, and chicken can be thawed and either heated up to eat whole or cut up for fajitas or casseroles.

Also, buy bulk hamburger meat, go ahead and brown it, and then put that into portion freezer bags. Then you can thaw it out for spaghetti or dishes like that.
Old 08-11-2006, 03:32 PM   #4  
Melissa

Thanks gals!

So Kathy you freeze chicken and burgers after you've grilled them? I never thought about that!
Old 08-11-2006, 03:43 PM   #5  

Yes, I do. Chicken in particular, and then it's ready to use. We mainly use it for fajitas or casseroles, but also can eat it whole. I put it in a pan with a lid on it so that it'll keep the moisture.

For the hamburger patties, I used to grill a lot at once and then would take one out to put in my lunch. By noon, it was thawed and I would just heat it up in the microwave at work. It worked out fine.
Old 08-11-2006, 03:48 PM   #6