Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 07-06-2006, 10:41 AM   #1  
Workin' My *** Off!

Height: 5'1"

Question Toaster Ovens

Ok, I live in an attic apartment, and it gets so flippin hot in the summer, that the last thing in the world I ever want to do is turn on the oven and heat it up anymore! So I'm considering getting a toaster oven....

Do any of you have one, and if so what kind and what do you use it for? I want to see if it will be worth it or not.... I'm not really good at cooking the best of times....
Canadian_Mickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 10:57 AM   #2  
I don't even own a wagon.

S/C/G: 363/277/200

Height: 5'11"

I have a cuisinart oven, and I use it all the time. I bake bread and other goods, make casseroles and lasagnas, broil and roast meats, and of course toast. In fact, since I got my current toaster oven about 3 months ago, I've only used my oven once (frozen pizza ).

For me, the main benefit is that the toaster oven heats up in about a 10th the time of my big oven, which makes cooking dinner a more compact experience and of course it doesn't heat up the entire kitchen. So, yes, I would recommend one!
andoreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 12:34 PM   #3  
Constant Vigilance

S/C/G: 150/132/<130

Height: just under 5'4"

I have a Kenmore Toaster Oven. I use it for anything small. Mainly baking potatoes (if I don't already have the oven on) and broiling fish. I also use it for toast (we don't have a regular toaster).

When we got the toaster over, I put a lot of research into different brands. Don't buy the cheapest one you can get--you do get what you pay for. Also, according to Consumer Reports, toaster ovens, even the expensive ones, don't do as good a job at making toast as a toaster does. This has definitely been my experience, so if evenly browned toast is important to you, you might want to hang onto your toaster.