Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 03-14-2006, 05:35 PM   #1  

Default New to Hypothyroid

I was just dx with hypothyroid yesterday and I was searching for answers to what I have and I found this site. I have been batteling weight problems for years I am a 36 years old married mother of 3 (17,13, and 4) currently I am 5'7" and 285 lbs., also from what I read loss of sex drive, memory loss and several other things are all symptoms of this. I was kind of supprised to get this diagnosis. I went to the doctor for onset muscle weekness and they ran a battery of tests on Friday and told me to start taking a vitamin and co-q-10the doctor then called on monday and said that my thyroid level was a concern and they were calling the pharmacy with a prescription to begin taking them that day. I didnt receive really any information from them other then that was what they found so I am not sure what my level was. I was reading that I should not take the vitamens with the medicince and several other facts that I was unaware of. Is there someone that can give me more information on this disease and some good sites for research so that I can understand what is going on and what I should be doing until I return to the doctor on 3/30.

ksjaberjaw
ksjaberjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 06:02 PM   #2  

i was diagnosed with hypothyroidism about a year and a half ago, and am finally on the right dose of medications.