Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 01-04-2006, 03:27 PM   #1  
I like jewelry.

Height: 5'7"

Default handstand question

Hi L&GWL!

I have a few questions that hopefully someone here can answer. I just started learning jujitsu a month ago. I need to be able to do a handstand as part of a forward roll. But I can't seem to summon the strength to use my arms and shoulders to lift my body up. Sensei and others in the class say that I don't need strength, just momentum and technique... but I don't think I can accomplish my goal without more upper body strength.

Questions: How much weight can a women generally lift above her head in the position that I would use to do a handstand? The other women in the dojo can do the handstands, but they all weigh at least 30 lbs. less than me.

Any ideas for exercises to improve my strength?

I've searched online for how to do handstands, but the results only include sites geared towards men who want to do handstand push-ups, seemingly for the purpose of building giant muscles rather than strength.

Any help would be appreciated.
TBJ333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 04:30 PM   #2  

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBJ333
Hi L&GWL!

I have a few questions that hopefully someone here can answer. I just started learning jujitsu a month ago. I need to be able to do a handstand as part of a forward roll. But I can't seem to summon the strength to use my arms and shoulders to lift my body up. Sensei and others in the class say that I don't need strength, just momentum and technique... but I don't think I can accomplish my goal without more upper body strength.

Questions: How much weight can a women generally lift above her head in the position that I would use to do a handstand? The other women in the dojo can do the handstands, but they all weigh at least 30 lbs. less than me.

Any ideas for exercises to improve my strength?