Closed Thread

Old 08-29-2003, 10:29 AM   #1  
diamondgeog

Default Finally a breakfast food that works for me

I have always liked the taste of a hot bowl of oatmeal, but I am not very good at doing much anything for breakfast. Well I just found the perfect solution for me at least. The Breakfast Squares from Quaker Oatmeal. They claim they are a whole bowl of oatmeal and they are suprsingly filling and taste great. I have only tried the Brown Sugar Cinamon and there are 2 other flavors.

One square has 220 calories, 4g total fat and 1g saturated fat. Not bad. 15mg cholesterol and 240mg sodium which is 10% of the rda. Not great on the sodium. They also have 2g dietary fiber again not great but at least something. That is 10% of the rda for fiber.

Anyhow they work for me and I found out for my coworker as well. You put them in a microwave for 10 seconds or so and they do taste like a hot bowl of oatmeal. I got a 6 count box for $2.04 at Target but my friend said at a Sam's Club it was an unbelivable $6 for a 12 box, where each of the 12 had the 6 squares.

Old 08-29-2003, 05:26 PM   #2  
Want to feel better

S/C/G: S/C/G: 240/205/150

Height: 5' 0"

They sound good ~ think I would like to try them.

Gayle
Old 09-02-2003, 01:41 PM   #3  
IR/PCOS/Pre-Diabetic

S/C/G: 310/*ticker*/150

Height: 5'4"

Today I tried the Baked Apple flavor of Quaker Oatmeal On the Go bars (sounds similar to what you have). It was definitely hearty and easy. Nice and chewy. A bit too sweet for me, though. I'm finding that many of the "breakfast bars" are too sweet for my tastes now -- from Nature Valley Granola to Nutrigrain Yogurt bars to Special K with Strawberries bars.

I may just go back to an old basic eatable-at-work oatmeal recipe: