Old 11-03-2013, 11:23 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 275/275/less than 275

Height: 5'5"

Default Anyone else out there afraid to lose her identity with the weight?

Hi everyone. Stumpy here. I'm new to 3FC and hoping to find someone who shares my particular brand of mental illness. My problem is I don't really want to lose weight. I like who I am and I am fat.

I've been heavy my whole life except for a couple of years when I was pretty thin. During those years, life was very awkward. People treated me differently and I felt extremely restricted and out of place. As a result I became withdrawn and mousy, and that's just not me. As a big lady, I have the freedom to do and say things I could never get away with when I was little. To further compound things, I think I look amazing at 245-250 pounds. No, seriously, I think I look incredible and I feel really sexy. Weird? Yeah, I know, but wait, there's more! I'm also really healthy considering my size. My blood pressure is good, my blood work is excellent, and I'm actually pretty fit. Before I went back to school I was taking tae kwon do. Now I only work out once a week, but I do an hour of cardio (45 to 50 minutes at my target heart rate) and a 20-30 minute circuit through the weight machines. Not too bad for a girl tipping the scales at 275.

Overall I have very little incentive to lose weight. Sure right now I'd like to drop 20 pounds or so, but if I lose any more than that, I'm afraid I will start losing myself. I should lose weight, I know that, but I would rather be me than be thin, and part of being me is being fat. Has anyone else felt this way?
Stumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 12:45 AM   #2  

S/C/G: S/C/G 250/206/140ish

Height: 5'3"

Most definitely. I have no doubt that one of the reasons I never cared much about gaining weight was that it gave me a certain amount of invisibility (as odd as that sounds).