Your Favorite Mini-Goals

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • As I'm just starting out on my weight loss journey- I have been contemplating mini-goals.

What have you been some of your favorite mini-goals?
  • I am excited to hear responses to this topic. I have only done weight-related ones, but I am considering adding exercise or strictness-to-plan mini-goals. Something to break up thr monotony of what really is a long slog. :-)
  • My mini goals are more materialistic vs. pounds. I like to measure mini goals by clothes, necklaces (without extenders even!), how much room is between me and my steering wheel, sitting at a restaurant booth, etc.

Some of them I already met so it's definitely added to my motivation! My husband had Chinese food for dinner last night and it smelled sooooo good. But the jeans I have hanging for my next mini goal are far more important to me than chicken fingers and egg rolls. 6 months ago I would have gone for the Chinese food!
  • I used little milestones- 10 pounds, 10%, BMI changes, as well as exercise levels. Granted, I haven't come as far as many of the others, but so far, it has worked.
  • I try to look for things around my house that weigh what I've lost... and then I look for something that weighs the same as the next milestone. It just amazes me when I haul the cat litter in. I use the small bags, they weigh ten pounds each. Even though I've only lost one (almost 2!) of them, I can't believe how many of them I'm carrying around! At 20 pounds, I will have lost an AUTOMOBILE TIRE! What a great visual that is. When I reach my goal weight, I will have lost the equivalent of a baby giraffe. LOL!
  • Quote: I used little milestones- 10 pounds, 10%, BMI changes, as well as exercise levels. Granted, I haven't come as far as many of the others, but so far, it has worked.
    These are excellent mini-goals. And you have come PLENTY far! You have lost 60 POUNDS! Amazing!! You are halfway to your goal!!