3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community  

Go Back   3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community > Support Forum > Support Groups > 100 lb. Club

Science geek

Old 12-29-2012, 10:27 AM   #1

S/C/G: 318/ticker/180

Height: 5'8''

Default Science geek

So it occurred to me this morning that I had no idea how fat is stored and burned on the cellular level even though I have a degree in cellular biology and work in medical research. I decided to do a quick search and found an interesting article which I think is fairly straightforward and definitely interesting. I'm not allowed to post the link yet, since I'm too new but I'll keep it and maybe I can reply with it if anyone is interested.

I thought the bit at the end was especially poignant too, considering my random inspiration to look this up: This article presents a lot of science and describes (only superficially) how complex fat storage/breakdown is within fat cells. However, as the Chinese philosopher Sun Tzu wrote, “If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles.” [paraphrased] People know how much they eat, drink, exercise, and sleep; knowing how the body responds, especially a part of the body that many struggle to control, will help win the fat loss battle.

I think this may be true for me, I hadn't considered the influence of science in my life as it applied to my weight management struggles and challenges with overeating. I am obsessed with knowledge and learning new things especially in the sciences so this could really be a good resource for me. And now I can make it my mission to be balanced and manage the way energy is burned by fat cells... and the article says having multiple small fat cells is healthier than few large, I've certainly got the raw materials--let's go!
melfitstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:33 AM   #2

Height: 5'8.5"

to another Seattleite!!

First major goal met 12/7/12. Next major goal ONEderland!