Old 06-03-2012, 08:37 AM   #1  
terilaine

S/C/G: 282/282/150

Height: 5'9"

Default Newbie needs help getting started..goal is 130 lbs lost

Hi!

I am a newbie that wants to lose 130 lbs and needs some advice on how to get started. I currently weigh 282 and would like to be in the 150 range. This is a comfortable weight for me in the past. I am 5'9" and have a large frame. I have been overweight or "morbidly obese" for 15 years, I am 41. I have finally made up my mind that I am sick of being the FAT wife, friend, and co-worker. I am a very social person and my weight hinders many things that I want to do. I am a type 2 diabetic with hypothyroidism and these are obstacles in my weightloss journey. I came here looking for support for people who have "been there" and understand how this affects you not only physically, but emotionally. My current plan of action is to go very low carb to get sugars under control and begin walking, working up to running eventually. Any other suggestions to help me are welcomed. I have many questions like weighing in, should it be done daily? how do you set mini goals on here? should I be journaling my food intake?

Please help me get started on my way to a happier life! Feedback is super appreciated!
terilaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 09:37 AM   #2  
one choice at a time

S/C/G: 275/155/189/???

Height: 5'5"

I started at a similar weight to yours, though I am considerably shorter. The best news I can give you is that at your weight, you don't need to do everything perfectly to see results - you just need to consistently eat better and less than you did before.

I don't really have advice about going "very low carb" - that is not something I ever did or felt I had to do, so I can let others chime in on that.