Old 01-14-2012, 12:41 PM   #1  
science nerd

S/C/G: 302/ticker/151

Height: 5'8"

Default Starting anew!

Hello everyone!

After seveal failed attempts, and some small successes, I'm starting anew with my weight loss plan. I have been doing low carb on and off for a few months, and I've managed to lose about 20 pounds, but I really dislike low carb and I am returning to calorie counting. I've had issues with calorie counting in the past, but I believe my problems have been from choosing too many empty calorie foods and ending up hungry at the end of the day. So I plan on really trying to make better food choices, and make sure I get lots of fiber and protein in my diet, as well as avoid processed food.

I also really need to exercise. I used to be pretty active, despite being heavy, and I was able to do 10 mile hikes with a full pack with little difficulty. This past summer, I tried to do the same and I really think it almost killed me. I also took an Ecology class last semester that spent a lot of time outdoors, and I had a hard time keeping up when we walked in hilly areas. I am probably in the worst shape I've ever been in!

I'm going on a trip with my school in March to Belize. It's part research, part sight-seeing, and I really want to me in better shape for when we walk around the forest! I don't expect to lose a lot of weight between now and then, but I do think I can get myself into good enough shape to hike!

So here's to a new year, and a new start.
shadowclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 12:45 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 216/209/175

Height: 5'10"

ShadowClaw:
Woo hooo, kudos to you for making this step. March is a looong ways off, go for it! And Belize, well-wow- what a great opportunity. Best of luck to you!
TiredOfMySize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 12:54 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 255/holding at 162/160

Height: 5'-7"