Old 01-07-2010, 09:47 PM   #1  
Becomming a Monster

S/C/G: 329/253/210

Height: 6'0

Default exercising whilst getting over a bad back

i pulled a muscle in the base of my back right by the spine at work on new years eve. i work as a nightclub bouncer and we had to carry out kicking and screaming a rather drunk women in the 230lb region. pub full of people women on floor kicking and screaming hence pulled muscle.

after a week of hot water bottling it and laying down alot its much better no stabbing pains when i move. just a dull pain now which is great. walking is out as well its covered in snow and ice and i don't have the core support to correct myself if i slip and don't fancy breaking my arms. swimming is out as i have no cash.

ideas? only for a week or so i just need to do something not for fitness reasons but cos i'm seriously bloody bored
slimmingsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:48 PM   #2  
Positive Focus

S/C/G: 225/ticker/125

Height: 5'1"

If you're sure it's just a pulled muscle, it sounds like something where your upper body would be okay. This isn't the time to sit on the core ball and do exercises though. On a sturdy surface, you should be able to do light lifting on your upper body (shoulders, biceps, chest flys, overhead triceps). Make sure to hold your tummy really tight. Try something you don't use often and make it an opportunity to challenge your muscles in a different way. Do you use bands? A lot of men don't but the bands are similar to the cables in the gym because they exert negative resistance (resistance on the opposite direction of the movement). It might help you come back stronger once you're better.

Don't completely stop moving your back or you'll have a bit of muscle loss to recover from. But stretch very gently after thoroughly warming up - the shower can warm you up also. It sounds like a short term injury, so maybe it's best to just let it heal.