3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   100 lb. Club (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/100-lb-club-55/)
-   -   Do any of you do martial arts? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/100-lb-club/183509-do-any-you-do-martial-arts.html)

thistoo 10-06-2009 08:19 AM

Do any of you do martial arts?

Eons ago, when I was a high school freshman, I took karate for awhile. Then I was hospitalized for awhile and I never got back to training. Ever since then I have subconsciously filed that experience in the 'failures' file in my brain. I realize that's ridiculous, of course, but even so I don't think there's any harm in trying again as an adult.

The thing is, I am sort of intimidated of martial arts studios. What I'd *really* like to try is Krav Maga, and there are a couple studios here that offer it, but I still feel so heavy and conspicuous in spite of my progress, and let's face it, those instructors can be pretty intimidating.

So I guess I'm wondering if any of the ladies here in the 100 lb. club have tried martial arts as part of your fitness program? Maybe your positive experiences will help me get over my silly, unfounded fears.

And if you do have experience in the martial arts at all, how impactful is it on your knees? I do have some ongoing problems with the meniscus in my right knee, and I don't want to end up in surgery any sooner than I have to.

Currently my doctor is letting me try 30 days of knee rehab exercises, then possibly a shot before she makes me go see an Ortho, mostly because she knows I won't stop running no matter how many times she tells me to. But if doing martial arts training is just asking for trouble, I will hold off for awhile.

salsa chip 10-06-2009 08:38 AM

A while back I tried Tae Kwan Do for a few weeks. Getting myself up to go was the hardest part, because oh boy did it work me! But afterwards I always felt really good :D