How do you become less sedentary?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Hi,

I do exercise regularly (four or five days a week) but I feel like I'm a lazy slug the rest of the time. I'm a student, so I am sitting a lot to study. I also love to read, so of course I sit to do that, too.

How do you get yourself to be more active during the day? I've never been a high energy person anyway, but the extra weight is slowing me down even more.

I like to exercise alone, and am not an "outdoor" or " sports" person. Any ideas for more activity?

Also, for those of you who have lost a lot of weight, did it help a lot with your energy level? I'm hypothyroid, so I'm tired a lot anyway, even when my medication is the correct dosage.

Sorry for my rambling, and thanks for any help.

Sherry
  • Hi there!
    To increase your overall activity, as a student, walking would be PERFECT for you. Either park a good distance from your educational facility or get off public transport 3 or 4 stops early.

You also might try ditching your car if you can -- bike to get groceries. Because you can't carry so much, you may have to grocery shop using your bike every day. Which would be GREAT!

You can take the stairs instead of the elevator/escalator all the time. This is great if you spend time in the library, because you can use the stairs between floors. In fact, you can take stairs breaks during your evening studies to get some activity in.

When you go for lunch on campus, pick the food service area the furthest away from where you are. Less convenience = more walking in your day.

Try pacing while you are reading, for say 10 minutes at a time. This helped me when studying -- pacing and thinking and repeating my study notes helped the info sink in, for some reason.

These may sound kind of silly, but all little actions will add up. And keep up with your regular exercise!!! You are doing awesomely well!!!

Kira