Old 02-18-2007, 03:25 PM   #1  
podsky

S/C/G: 222

Height: 5'4

Smile Help

I am new to this and in my 50's. My well being depends on me being able to get it together and lose some weight. I've thought of Overeaters anonymous, but not sure that is right for me. Do these boards really help? Any suggestions for success? How oftent do people go on the boards?

Looking for help
podsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 04:10 PM   #2  
Believe

Height: 5'7"

Welcome to the forum podsky! I know the boards help me. It motivates and encourages me to continue my quest for a healthier me. It has educated me to other options that I wouldn't have considered on my own. I now know that the mistakes I make along the way are mistakes that others have made which helps to keep me focused on the big picture rather than my old mentality which was "I screwed up- therefore I might as well give up!".

I try to check in an read the posts once a day, but sometimes life get in the way and I can't always make it here.

I tried OA on the advice of my doctor back in 2003. I've heard wonderful things about it and I know it works for some. I gave it 3 weeks, but each week it was the same thing - we went around the room and each had to read a paragraph from one of the OA books (all three weeks it was the same paragraphs!) and tell the group how that paragraph related to our own personal experience. I personally don't like to be the center of attention in a group setting like that and I was very uncomfortable not only reading out loud but being put on the spot and trying to think and say something intelligent about the paragraph I had to read. Bottom line - it stressed me out!! But I've talked to others and their meetings were nothing like that so I think it depends on where you go to the OA meeting.

Good luck on your journey to a healthier you!! I look forward to seeing more posts from you!!!

Melissa
melsfolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 10:55 PM   #3  
Kelly M