Gluten is basically a kind of protein that can be found in barley, rye and wheat. This means that most types of cereal and bread that you will be find will contain some amount of gluten. If you have celiac disease, then your body has developed an intolerance to gluten. This means that you need to eliminate gluten from your diet. However, health experts now believe that avoiding gluten can be beneficial even to those who do not have celiac disease. Research has shown that many people suffer from gluten allergy without developing celiac disease. If you constantly suffer from chronic headache, fatigue, stress, acne and other health conditions then there is a chance that you could be allergic to gluten. Here are some ways to remove gluten from your diet.
1. Avoid Baked Goods that Contain Gluten
If you wish to eat a gluten-free diet, you might have to make drastic changes in your eating habits. This is because many foods that contain gluten are possibly foods that you are used to eating everyday, such as bread. Eliminating bread from your diet can be extremely challenging, especially if you’re one of the many people who eats toast for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch and a meat dish with a side of bread rolls for dinner. Aside from bread, you’re also going to have to remove other baked products from your diet, such as cookies, biscuits, pies, cakes and other pastries. Pasta also contains gluten, so you will have to stop eating macaroni and cheese or spaghetti.
2. Look for Gluten-Free Substitutes
Removing gluten from your diet may seem like you’re depriving yourself of many foods, but it doesn’t have to be that way. More and more people are making the decision to start eating healthy, and food companies are taking notice. This is why it’s now easy to find gluten-free products that you can incorporate into your diet. For instance, there are now gluten-free breads that you can use as a substitute for ordinary bread. When working with gluten-free bread, make sure that you keep it separated from bread products that do contain gluten. For instance, it might make sense to have a separate toaster for your gluten-free bread. At the very least, make sure that the toaster is clean and crumb-free if it is also used to toast bread that contains gluten. There are also breakfast cereals that are free from gluten. Pancakes, pizzas and pasta can be made using gluten-free recipes.
3. Beware of Foods that Contain Hidden Gluten
Bread, pasta and pastries are perhaps the best-known foods that contain gluten, so you would naturally avoid them if you want to have a gluten-free diet. However, there are other foods that you might not have expected to contain gluten, but do. For instances, since salad dressings and sauces are given their thick consistency using flour, they might contain traces of gluten. Chocolate drinks, instant coffee, instant soups and even luncheon meat might also contain gluten. To be safe, check labels or go for brands that are specifically labeled as “gluten-free.”